I Miss School..

I still remember our Farewell day. I knew what the day meant. I knew what it represented. I knew it was the final page of a novel much longer than a J.K. Rowling classic. I also knew that, come April, I would not be returning.

I think we are all familiar with the lyric: “You don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone.” This is true.

Well, the following verse reads: “They paved paradise and put up a parking lot.” I feel like my parking pass has expired.

I miss my friends.

I miss walking around campus.

I miss texting my friends and making plans to meet somewhere.

I miss having to apologize for being a “few” minutes late.

I miss hearing people complain about their marks.

I miss the morning chapel.

I miss having people tell me about their problems.

I miss sitting at a table cracking jokes with friends.

I miss kicking people on their birthdays and vice versa.

I miss wearing a tie.

I miss going to my friends’ houses and being served food.

I miss playing football every morning.

I miss breaking my glasses. (I haven’t broken one in over 16 months!)

I miss following a routine.

I miss navigating my way through crowded hallways.

I miss walking up to the Park Street/Maidan metro station.

I didn’t write this entry so people can feel sorry for me. Nor did I write it so people can tell me to look forward to the future. I will be fine. I wrote it because I thought it was important to get this off my chest. I wrote it for the people in my position who might feel the same way – and if you don’t, I hope to be where you are one day, soon. I wrote it for the people currently in school, so they can cherish every single second of the experience.

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

